FBD Young Farmer of the Year

29 young farmers have made it through the county rounds of the FBD Young Farmer of the Year to represent their counties at the two day competition which will take place in the Newpark Hotel in County Kilkenny on the 1st and 2nd of September. This competition aims to reflect the progressive and innovative qualities of Ireland’s top young farmers and promote the range of viable diversification opportunities available for Irish agriculture in future years, these 29 farmers represent some of the best young farmers Ireland has to offer. It is important to highlight their efforts and achievements as farming offers a varied and challenging work environment and is a viable profession. It’s vital that we acknowledge the many highly educated young people that have embarked on a successful career in farming. Macra na Feirme have announced that former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern will chair the final adjudication panel at the FBD 2008 Young Farmer of the Year Awards, which will take place in the Newpark Hotel, Castlecomer Road, Co. Kilkenny. The very popular young farmer Colm Quain of Colmanswell, Ballygran will represent Limerick. Colm is a very active member of the Shannonside club and is also the Young Farmer Officer on the County Macra Committee. Colm has made a big impact to Macra in Limerick since joining in the last year. He has helped Shannonside to much tag rugby success and loves all social events. Limerick Macra wishes Colm to very best of luck next Tuesday.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: