AIB Club of the Year 2008

The closing date for the AIB club of the year and Best New Member competition is July 31st, so if you think your club has what it takes to be crowned Club of the Year, you had better get entering! Forms are available from club secretaries or you can call Clare Davenport at national office on 01 -4268910 or email . The 2008 AIB Club of the Year competition was launched last weekend by Patrick Butterly AIB, Paul Ormond, Tipperary Hurling Captain and Macra na Feirme national president Catherine Buckley, at the first Macra na Feirme national council meeting in Abbeyleix Co. Laois. This prestigious competition, run by Macra na Feirme and kindly sponsored by AIB is designed to award the most dynamic and active clubs in the country. After submitting an application form, clubs are judged on a number of different criteria, with the top 12 clubs in the competition shortlisted for interview by an adjudicating panel. Six clubs are selected to go forward to the national final, which takes place at the Macra rally each year. Also launched was the AIB Best New Macra Member Award which is a sub-category of the AIB Club of the Year Competition and was introduced in 2007, and proved to be very successful, the award is presented to one individual Macra member who is deemed by his/her club to have made a significant contribution to the development of the club during his/her first year of membership. Speaking at the launch Patrick Butterly of AIB said: AIB are delighted to sponsor the competition, which is a great way of recognizing and rewarding the top clubs around the country.Paul Ormond, Tipperary hurling Captain whose club Loughmore Castleiney won the Tipperary and Munster Senior Hurling Club Championships 2007 said that it is very important for clubs to have something like this to recognise the hard work and dedication of members around the country.For further information and an entry form contact Clare Davenport on 01-426 8910 or email

Photo: Brian Ormond, Tipperary Hurling Captain, Lisa Cahill  Limerick ( Representative on the Macra National Council) Patrick Butterly of AIB and Catherine Buckley ( President of Macra Na Feirme).


Upcoming events:the Shannonside Club are holding a table quiz this Saturday in the Sports Bar at the University of Limerick. All are welcome and the quiz will commence at 8pm.

Lisa Cahill


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: